Back to the overview
Press release
16
.
02
.
2021

Setting the course for scaling: LINUS Digital Finance becomes a public limited company and appoints supervisory board around PE investor Verena Mohaupt and tech entrepreneur Christian Vollmann

Supervisory Board Chair Verena Mohaupt, partner at a renowned private equity fund and Supervisory Board member at home24 and Pacifico Renewables Yield AG. Other Supervisory Board members are business angel and tech entrepreneur Christian Vollmann (nebenan.de), attorney Jennifer Brenke (Leonhardt Rattunde) and venture capital expert Kristian Schmidt-Garve (MIG Verwaltungs AG)

LINUS Digital Finance becomes a stock corporation and appoints a Supervisory Board with four members. The adjustments to its structure and the addition of high calibre personnel allow the Berlin-based finance technology company to prepare itself for the rapid expansion of its business. The fintech company, founded in 2016, is the first German company to offer private individuals and small professional investors throughout the Eurozone direct, digital access to high-quality real estate investments through its proprietary finance platform. This allows LINUS to open up institutional investments in this asset class to a very large group of new investors formerly unable to access such lucrative opportunities.  

Frederic Olbert, an investment banker previously with Goldman Sachs, joined LINUS to become its Chief Financial Officer. Together with founder and CEO David Neuhoff he will form the board of management of LINUS Digital Finance AG. Verena Mohaupt, an experienced member of numerous Supervisory Boards and a private equity investor, was appointed as Chair of the Supervisory Board. She will be joined by an interdisciplinary team comprising the business angel and tech entrepreneur Christian Vollmann (nebenan.de), the attorney Jennifer Brenke (Leonhardt Rattunde), and the venture capital investor Kristian Schmidt-Garve (MIG Verwaltungs AG).

“The new corporate form is the next logical step for LINUS to accelerate the already dynamic pace of our expansion. We look forward to working with our highly experienced Supervisory Board to broaden our product offering and to rapidly grow the number of clients that we provide digital access to institutional real estate investments throughout Europe to,” stated David Neuhoff, CEO of LINUS Digital Finance.

Supervisory Board with extensive private equity, start-up and scaling experience

The members of the Supervisory Board have long and diverse track records in areas such as business and real estate law, private equity, M&A, venture capital, company building and business development.

Supervisory Board Chair Verena Mohaupt has extensive experience as a member of Supervisory Boards, including at home24 and Pacifico Renewables Yield AG, and as a partner in a renowned private equity fund. Verena Mohaupt has previously been employed at Allianz Capital Partners (ACP), McKinsey & Co. and at Goldman Sachs and was the co-founder and chair of ciao.com AG. She holds an MBA from INSEAD and a bachelor’s degree in business administration from the University of Münster.

“I am very much looking forward to working with LINUS in writing the coming chapters in its wonderful success story. This fintech has demonstrated the enormous potential that investors can tap into at the intersection between digital platforms and real estate investments,” said Verena Mohaupt, the Chair of the Supervisory Board of LINUS Digital Finance.

Christian Vollmann, a widely acknowledged expert in the field of start-ups, takes up the role of Deputy Chair of the Supervisory Board. The business administration graduate boasts an impressive track record having (co-)founded 75 companies since 2005, including the social network StudiVZ and the travel portal Trivago. In 2015, he founded the social neighbourhood network nebenan.de, which has 1.7 million users today. In 2017, Vollmann was honoured with the Business Angel of the Year award.

He is also involved in PropTech1 Ventures as a venture partner and member of the investment committee. Proptech 1 Ventures is Germany’s first venture capital fund primarily investing in the digitalisation of the real estate industry.

Strategic investments underline ambitious growth plans

LINUS Digital Finance is currently focusing on developing and promoting its digital platform www.linus-finance.com. The platform offers professional and semi-professional investors digital access to institutional real estate investments. The company plans to invest more than 10 million euros to scale the proprietary platform and to raise a total of more than one billion euros from co-investors in the medium term. To that end, the LINUS team is growing considerably with a large number of further hirings expected by the end of 2021.

About LINUS Digital Finance:

LINUS Digital Finance, located in Berlin and London, offers bespoke real estate project financing. LINUS always acts as the anchor investor in its mezzanine and whole-loan investments through its EUR 350m debt fund vehicle. Semi-professional and institutional investors are able to join LINUS’ investments as co-investors through its proprietary digital finance platform. As an investment management company, LINUS is supervised by the German Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (Bundesanstalt für Finanzdienstleistungsaufsicht, BaFin). Since inception, LINUS has invested more than EUR 550 million of capital together with its co-investors into real estate projects financing a project volume in excess of EUR 1.5 billion.

Press contact:

Johannes Braun
PB3C GmbH
Mail: braun@pb3c.com
Phone: +49 (0) 30 726276 1544

Further articles

Press release
05
.
11
.
2020
Expansion of the digital real estate investment platform: LINUS initiates next development step

New company name "LINUS Digital Finance" - 250 million euros in new co-investor funds by the end of 2021 - New investments every two weeks - Doubling of the number of employees

Find out more
Press release
04
.
12
.
2020
LINUS Digital Finance appoints Julia Kneist as Chief Risk Officer

Julia Kneist takes over tasks from Dr. Matthias Schulz - Previous managing director becomes co-founder of an impact fund for agriculture and forestry - Company growth and staff expansion continue

Find out more
Press article
04
.
09
.
2020
Home office: New savings potential for companies?

Experts are still far from certain: Is home office the next big trend or will we return to the traditional office space once the Covid-19 pandemic is contained? What is your opinion?

Find out more
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as a UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page

Zurück zur Übersicht
Pressemitteilung
16
.
02
.
2021

Weichenstellung für Skalierung: LINUS Digital Finance wird Aktiengesellschaft und beruft Aufsichtsrat um PE-Investorin Verena Mohaupt und Techunternehmer Christian Vollmann

Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende Verena Mohaupt, Partnerin bei renommierten Private Equity-Fonds sowie Aufsichtsratsmitglied bei home24 und Pacifico Renewables Yield AG. Weitere Aufsichtsratsmitglieder Business Angel und Tech-Unternehmer Christian Vollmann (nebenan.de), Rechtsanwältin Jennifer Brenke (Leonhardt Rattunde) und Venture Capital-Experte Kristian Schmidt-Garve (MIG Verwaltungs AG)

LINUS Digital Finance firmiert als Aktiengesellschaft und beruft einen vierköpfigen Aufsichtsrat. Damit stellt sich das Berliner Finanztechnologieunternehmen strukturell und personell für eine rasche Skalierung des Geschäfts auf. Das 2016 gegründete FinTech-Unternehmen bietet Privatpersonen und kleinen professionellen Anlegern in der gesamten Eurozone als erstes deutsches Unternehmen über seine Investmentplattform direkten, digitalen Zugang zu hochwertigen Immobilieninvestments institutioneller Investoren. Damit öffnet LINUS institutionelle Investments in dieser Anlageklasse für einen sehr großen Kreis neuer Investoren.  

Der Investmentbanker Frederic Olbert, der kürzlich von Goldman Sachs zu LINUS wechselte, wird künftig Chief Financial Officer der LINUS Digital Finance AG und stellt gemeinsam mit Gründer und CEO David Neuhoff den Vorstand. Als Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende konnte die erfahrene Aufsichtsrätin (home24, Pacifico Renewables Yield AG) und Private Equity-Investorin Verena Mohaupt gewonnen werden. Ihr zur Seite steht ein interdisziplinär aufgestelltes Team aus dem Business Angel und Tech-Unternehmer Christian Vollmann (nebenan.de), der Rechtsanwältin Jennifer Brenke (Leonhardt Rattunde), und dem Venture Capital Investor Kristian Schmidt-Garve (MIG Verwaltungs AG).

„Die neue Struktur als AG ist für uns der nächste logische Schritt, um unser hohes Expansionstempo nachhaltig beibehalten und noch einmal steigern zu können. Wir freuen uns mit Hilfe so hochkarätiger Sparringpartner unser Produktangebot weiter ausbauen und einer schnell wachsenden Kundenzahl europaweit digitalen Zugang zu insitutionellen Immobilieninvestments bieten zu können“, kommentiert David Neuhoff, Vorstandsvorsitzender von LINUS Digital Finance.

Aufsichtsrat mit geballter Private Equity-, Start-Up- und Skalierungs-Erfahrung

Die Aufsichtsratsmitglieder verfügen über einen langjährigen und erfolgreichen Track Record in so vielfältigen Bereichen wie Wirtschafts- und Immobilienrecht, Private Equity, M&A, Venture Capital, Unternehmensgründungen und Business Development.

Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende Verena Mohaupt ist erfahrene Aufsichtsrätin, u.a. bei home24 und Pacifico Renewables Yield AG, und Partnerin bei einem renommierten Private Equity-Fonds. Zuvor war Verena Mohaupt bei Allianz Capital Partners (ACP), McKinsey & Co. sowie bei Goldman Sachs tätig. Sie war Mitgründerin und Vorstand der ciao.com AG (einem europäischen Online-Shopping-Portal). Verena Mohaupt ist Diplom-Kauffrau (Universität Münster) und hält einen MBA vom INSEAD.

„Ich freue mich sehr darauf, LINUS beim Fortschreiben seiner tollen Erfolgsgeschichte ab sofort zu begleiten. Das FinTech beweist eindrucksvoll, welches enorme Potenzial Investoren an der Schnittstelle zwischen digitalen Plattformen und Immobilien-Anlagen heben können“, sagt Verena Mohaupt, Aufsichtsratsvorsitzende von LINUS Digital Finance.

Stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Aufsichtrats ist mit Christian Vollmann ein ausgewiesener Experte im Bereich Start-Ups. Der Diplom-Kaufmann hat selbst seit 2005 bei der Gründung von 75 Unternehmen mitgewirkt, unter anderem bei dem sozialen Netzwerk StudiVZ und dem Reiseportal Trivago. 2015 gründete er das soziale Nachbarschaftsnetzwerk nebenan.de, das mittlerweile von 1,7 Millionen Menschen genutzt wird. 2017 wurde Vollmann als Business Angel des Jahres ausgezeichnet.

Als Venture Partner und Mitglied im Investment Committee ist er auch an PropTech1 Ventures beteiligt, Deutschlands erstem Venture-Capital-Fonds, der schwerpunktmäßig in die Digitalisierung der Immobilienwirtschaft investiert.

Strategische Investitionen untermauern ehrgeizigen Wachstumskurs

LINUS Digital Finance konzentriert sich aktuell vor allem auf die Weiterentwicklung der digitalen Plattform www.linus-finance.com. Diese bietet professionellen und semi-professionellen Investoren digitalen Zugang zu institutionellen Immobilieninvestments.  Das Unternehmen beabsichtigt in den kommenden Jahren einen zweistelligen Millionenbetrag in den Ausbau der Plattform zu investieren. Insgesamt will LINUS mittelfristig insgesamt mehr als 1 Mrd. Euro von Co-Investoren über die digitale Plattform eingesammelt haben. Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, soll auch das LINUS-Personal deutlich aufgestockt werden: Bis Ende des Jahres 2021 soll die Mitarbeiterzahl erheblich ausgebaut werden, um das Wachstum auch personell zu stemmen.

Über LINUS Digital Finance:

LINUS Digital Finance finanziert über einen von ihr verwalteten Debt-Fonds Immobilienprojekte mit Fremd- und Mezzanine-Kapital. Das Berliner Unternehmen tritt bei den Mezzanine- und Whole-Loan-Investments stets selbst als Ankerinvestor auf. LINUS Digital Finance ermöglicht es semi-professionellen und institutionellen Anlegern, sich an diesen Investments über eine digitale Plattform zu beteiligen. Die Laufzeit der Kredite beträgt in der Regel zwischen 12 und 36 Monate. Eine Tochtergesellschaft der LINUS Digital Finance AG wird als Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft (KVG) von der BaFin beaufsichtigt. Der von der KVG verwaltete Debt-Fonds hat gemeinsam mit Co-Investoren seit der Gründung insgesamt rund 550 Mio. Euro an Kapital in Immobilienprojekte investiert und damit ein Projektvolumen von über 1,5 Mrd. Euro finanziert.

Pressekontakt:

Johannes Braun
PB3C GmbH
Mail: braun@pb3c.com
Phone: +49 (0) 30 726276 1544

Weitere Artikel

Pressemitteilung
05
.
11
.
2020
Ausbau der digitalen Immobilien-Investmentplattform: LINUS leitet nächsten Entwicklungsschritt ein

Neuer Firmenname "LINUS Digital Finance" - 250 Millionen Euro an neuen Co-Investorengeldern bis Ende 2021 - Neue Investments im Zwei-Wochen-Rhythmus - Verdopplung der Mitarbeiterzahl

Mehr erfahren
Pressemitteilung
04
.
12
.
2020
LINUS Digital Finance beruft Julia Kneist zum Chief Risk Officer

Julia Kneist übernimmt Aufgaben von Dr. Matthias Schulz - Bisheriger Geschäftsführer wird Mitgründer eines Impact-Fonds für Agrar- und Forstwirtschaft - Unternehmenswachstum und Mitarbeiteraufbau schreiten voran

Mehr erfahren
Presseartikel
04
.
09
.
2020
"Unternehmen winkt Sparpotenzial"

Die Fachwelt ist sich noch längst nicht sicher: Wird das Homeoffice zum großen Trend, oder kehren wir nach Corona doch wieder zur traditionellen Arbeitswelt zurück - welche Schlüsse ziehen Sie da?

Mehr erfahren
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as an UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page