Back to the overview
Press release
19
.
08
.
2021

Representative YouGov survey for LINUS Digital Finance shows: High acceptance of digital platforms among wealthy individuals

- Almost 40 percent have experience in or are open to investments of 50,000 or 200,000 euros via online platforms - co-investment of the product provider is decisive

Digital platforms and real estate investments have caught on with wealthy private investors. Almost 40 percent of investors can imagine investing 50,000 euros or even 200,000 euros via an online platform or have already done so. Another 28 percent of those surveyed would first invest smaller amounts via an online platform. Only around 32 percent value personal advisory meetings and do not want to invest purely digitally. At the same time, the asset class of real estate is proving enormously popular: 94 percent of wealthy Germans have their own experience with real estate investments. These are the results of a representative survey conducted by the opinion research institute YouGov on behalf of Linus Digital Finance. 253 people with financial assets of at least 500,000 euros were surveyed.

"The results show that wealthy private individuals are extremely interested in real estate investments - and are also happy to invest larger sums of money digitally. Digital platforms have established themselves and are likely to gain further importance. This offers ideal conditions for the scaling of corresponding offers and sustainable growth," says David Neuhoff, founder and CEO of Linus Digital Finance.

Co-investment and attractive return expected

It is advantageous if the initiator of an investment product co-invests and thus ensures concurrent interests. Thus, 26 percent of the respondents stated that this was a necessary condition and almost 39 percent considered it important. Only about 13 percent considered it unimportant.

Wealthy investors expect attractive returns on their real estate investments. As many as 13 percent of those surveyed expect an annual running net return of more than eight percent. 34 percent are satisfied with five to eight percent and 44 percent with three to five percent. But only seven percent are content with a net return of two to three percent and only two percent expect a return of less than two percent.

Sustainability not yet a decisive criterion

The stability of value of the investment, the regular income and the amount of income are particularly important for real estate investors. Almost 56 percent stated that the stability of the investment was most important to them, 43 percent emphasised the stability of the income and 42 percent focused on the amount of income. With a share of just under 14 percent, the sustainability of a real estate investment still plays a subordinate role among wealthy private investors. However, there is a discernible difference between the generations. Younger investors up to 30 years of age placed significantly more value on sustainability (28 percent) than older investors over 70 years of age, where the value was only seven percent.

Real estate in high demand

Wealthy investors are extensively invested in real estate and have a high level of experience. They have invested broadly in various vehicles or in owner-occupied property. Around 74 percent have invested in owner-occupied property and around 38 percent in real estate financing. "Investments specifically in real estate financing have become established among wealthy investors," says Neuhoff. 38 percent have invested in shares of real estate companies or corresponding equity funds and 37 percent in closed-end or open-end real estate funds. In contrast, only around eight percent rely on crowd investments. After all, 33 percent have invested directly in real estate for rent.

Access to assets the biggest hurdle - professional platforms provide a remedy

However, wealthy investors complain about a number of hurdles in their investments. One important hurdle is access to attractive properties. As a result, the real estate market presents itself as non-transparent for investors. 37 percent of the respondents are of this opinion. In addition, the high costs of acquiring real estate are viewed critically, and for around 27 percent, the illiquidity of real estate compared to liquid securities is a disadvantage. As many as 21 percent criticise complicated sales channels and investment processes.

"Digital platforms are also so popular because the investment is implemented in an uncomplicated manner and the duration of the investment is limited in time. Our investors usually invest in loans with terms of between 6 and 48 months," says Neuhoff.

Basics of the survey

The data used is based on an online survey by YouGov Deutschland GmbH in which 253 people participated between 23 and 29 April 2021 with financial assets of at least 500,000 euros. Almost 60 percent of the respondents have financial assets between 500,001 and one million euros, the other 40 percent more than one million.

Via the digital platform www.linus-finance.com, experienced investors participate directly in high-yield real estate projects.

About LINUS Digital Finance:

Linus Digital Finance AG finances real estate projects with debt and mezzanine capital via a private debt fund it manages and enables semi-professional, professional and institutional investors to participate in these investments via a digital platform. The term of the loans is usually between six and 48 months.

A subsidiary of Linus Digital Finance AG is supervised by BaFin as a capital management company (KVG). Together with co-investors, the funds and investment companies managed by Linus Digital Finance AG have invested more than €630 million in real estate projects since the company was founded in 2016, including around €450 million from co-investors, thus financing a total project volume of almost €2 billion. Around €38 million in interest has been distributed to Linus Digital Finance AG investors to date (as of July 2021).

Linus Digital Finance AG is listed on the regulated market (General Standard) of the Frankfurt Stock Exchange. Linus Capital Ltd. is the UK subsidiary of Linus Digital Finance AG and an Appointed Representative of Infinity Asset Management LLP, which is authorised and regulated by the Financial Conduct Authority (FCA).

Further articles

Press release
04
.
05
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance with record repayments at the start of 2021

Around 75 million euros in repayments since the beginning of the year - Interest of around 35 million euros already paid out to investors since 2019

Find out more
Press release
12
.
07
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance ignites next stage of growth offensive: Digital platform now also available in the UK

- Digital platform now also accessible for British investors - German investors can also invest in the UK in the near future - Next step on the way to becoming the leading pan-European real estate FinTech

Find out more
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as a UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page

Zurück zur Übersicht
Pressemitteilung
19
.
08
.
2021

Repräsentative YouGov-Umfrage für LINUS Digital Finance zeigt: Hohe Akzeptanz von digitalen Plattformen bei Vermögenden

· Knapp 40 Prozent haben Erfahrung in oder sind offen für Investments von 50.000 oder 200.000 Euro via Online-Plattform · Co-Investment des Produktanbieters entscheidend

Digitale Plattformen und Immobilieninvestitionen haben sich bei vermögenden privaten Investoren durchgesetzt. Knapp 40 Prozent der Investoren können es sich vorstellen 50.000 Euro oder sogar 200.000 Euro über eine Online-Plattform zu investieren oder haben es bereits getan. Weitere 28 Prozent der Befragten würden über eine Online-Plattform erst einmal kleinere Beträge investieren. Nur rund 32 Prozent legen Wert auf persönliche Beratungsgespräche und wollen nicht rein digital investieren. Parallel beweist die Assetklasse Immobilien enorme Beliebtheit: 94 Prozent vermögender Deutscher haben eigene Erfahrung mit Immobilienanlagen. Zu diesen Ergebnissen kommt eine repräsentative Umfrage des Meinungsforschungsinstituts YouGov im Auftrag von Linus Digital Finance. Befragt wurden 253 Personen mit einem Geldvermögen von mindestens 500.000 Euro.

„Die Ergebnisse zeigen, dass vermögende Privatpersonen enormes Interesse an Immobilieninvestments haben – und dabei durchaus gerne digital auch größere Geldsummen anlegen. Digitale Plattformen haben sich etabliert und dürften weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen. Das bietet ideale Voraussetzungen für die Skalierung entsprechender Angebote und nachhaltiges Wachstum“, sagt David Neuhoff, Gründer und CEO von Linus Digital Finance.

Co-Investment und attraktive Rendite erwartet

Von Vorteil ist es dabei, wenn der Initiator eines Investment-Produktes mitinvestiert und damit gleichlaufende Interessen sicherstellt. So geben 26 Prozent der Befragten an, dass dies eine notwendige Bedingung sei und knapp 39 Prozent hielten dies für wichtig. Nur etwa 13 Prozent hielten dies für unwichtig.

Vermögende Investoren erwarten attraktive Renditen bei ihren Immobilieninvestments. Immerhin 13 Prozent der Befragten erwarten eine jährlich laufende Nettorendite von mehr als acht Prozent. 34 Prozent sind mit fünf bis acht Prozent zufrieden und 44 Prozent mit drei bis fünf Prozent. Aber nur sieben Prozent begnügen sich mit einer Nettorendite von zwei bis drei Prozent und nur zwei Prozent erwarten eine Rendite von weniger als zwei Prozent.

Nachhaltigkeit noch kein entscheidendes Kriterium

Die Wertstabilität der Anlage, die regelmäßigen Erträge und die Höhe der Er-träge sind besonders wichtig für Immobilieninvestoren. So gaben knapp 56 Prozent an, dass ihnen die Stabilität der Wertanlage am wichtigsten ist, 43 Prozent betonten die Stabilität der Erträge und 42 Prozent setzten auf die Höhe der Erträge. Mit einem Anteil von knapp 14 Prozent spielt die Nachhaltigkeit eines Immobilieninvestments bei vermögenden Privatinvestoren eine noch untergeordnete Rolle. Erkennbar ist hier jedoch ein Unterschied zwischen den Generationen. Jüngere Investoren bis 30 Jahre legten mit 28 Prozent deutlich mehr Wert auf Nachhaltigkeit als ältere Investoren ab 70 Jahre, wo der Wert bei lediglich sieben Prozent lag.

Immobilien stark nachgefragt

Vermögende Investoren sind umfangreich in Immobilien investiert und besitzen eine hohe Erfahrung. Dabei haben sie breit in verschiedene Vehikel oder in selbstgenutztes Eigentum investiert. So haben rund 74 Prozent in selbstgenutztes Eigentum investiert und rund 38 Prozent in Immobilienfinanzierungen. „Investments speziell in Immobilienfinanzierungen haben sich bei vermögenden Investoren etabliert“, sagt Neuhoff. 38 Prozent haben in Aktien von Immobilienunternehmen oder entsprechende Aktienfonds investiert und 37 Prozent in geschlossene oder offene Immobilienfonds. Nur rund acht Prozent setzen dagegen auf Crowd-Investments. Immerhin 33 Prozent sind direkt in Immobilien zur Vermietung investiert.

Zugang zu Assets größte Hürde – professionelle Plattformen schaffen Abhilfe

Vermögende Investoren bemängeln jedoch eine Reihe von Hürden bei ihren Investments. Eine wichtige Hürde ist der Zugang zu attraktiven Objekten. Der Immobilienmarkt stellt sich für Investoren dadurch als intransparent dar. 37 Prozent der Befragten sind dieser Auffassung. Darüber hinaus werden die hohen Kosten beim Erwerb der Immobilie kritisch gesehen und für rund 27 Prozent ist die Illiquidität der Immobilie im Vergleich zu liquiden Wertpapieren ein Nachteil. Immerhin 21 Prozent bemängeln komplizierte Vertriebswege und Anlageprozesse.

„Digitale Plattformen sind auch deshalb so beliebt, weil das Investment unkompliziert umgesetzt wird und die Dauer des Investments zeitlich begrenzt ist. So investieren unsere Anleger in der Regel in Darlehen mit Laufzeiten zwischen 6 und 48 Monaten“, so Neuhoff.

Grundlagen der Befragung

Die verwendeten Daten beruhen auf einer Online-Umfrage der YouGov Deutschland GmbH, an der 253 Personen zwischen dem 23. und 29.04.2021 teilnahmen mit einem Geldvermögen von mindestens 500.000 Euro. Knapp 60 Prozent der Befragten besitzen ein Geldvermögen zwischen 500.001 und einer Million Euro, die anderen 40 Prozent mehr als eine Million.

Über die digitale Plattform www.linus-finance.com beteiligen sich erfahrene Anleger direkt an renditestarken Immobilienprojekten.

Über LINUS Digital Finance:

Die Linus Digital Finance AG finanziert über einen von ihr verwalteten Private Debt-Fonds Immobilienprojekte mit Fremd- und Mezzanine-Kapital und ermöglicht es semi-professionellen, professionellen und institutionellen Anlegern, sich an diesen Investments über eine digitale Plattform zu beteiligen. Die Laufzeit der Kredite beträgt in der Regel zwischen sechs und 48 Monaten.

Eine Tochtergesellschaft der Linus Digital Finance AG wird als Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaft (KVG) von der BaFin beaufsichtigt. Die von der Linus Digital Finance AG verwalteten Fonds und Investmentgesellschaften haben gemeinsam mit Co-Investoren seit der Gründung 2016 über 630 Mio. Euro, davon rund 450 Mio. Euro von Co-Investoren, in Immobilienprojekte investiert und damit ein Projektvolumen von insgesamt knapp 2 Mrd. Euro finanziert. An die Investoren der Linus Digital Finance AG wurden bislang rund 38 Mio. Euro Zinsen ausgeschüttet (Stand Juli 2021).

Die Linus Digital Finance AG ist im regulierten Markt (General Standard) der Frankfurter Wertpapierbörse notiert. Linus Capital Ltd. ist die britische Tochtergesellschaft der Linus Digital Finance AG und eine ernannte Vertreterin (Appointed Representative) der Infinity Asset Management LLP, die von der Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) zugelassen ist und reguliert wird.

Weitere Artikel

Pressemitteilung
04
.
05
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance mit Rekord bei Rückzahlungen zum Jahresauftakt 2021

Rund 75 Millionen Euro Rückzahlungen seit Jahresbeginn · Seit 2019 bereits Zinsen in Höhe von rund 35 Millionen Euro an Investoren ausgeschüttet

Mehr erfahren
Pressemitteilung
12
.
07
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance zündet nächste Stufe der Wachstumsoffensive: Digitale Plattform jetzt auch im Vereinigten Königreich verfügbar

• Digitale Plattform jetzt auch für britische Investoren zugänglich • Zeitnah können auch deutsche Investoren im Vereinigten Königreich investieren • Nächster Schritt auf dem Weg zum führenden paneuropäischen Immobilien-FinTech

Mehr erfahren
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as an UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page