Back to the overview
Press article
Börsen-Zeitung
03
.
08
.
2021

Fintech Linus Digital Finance offers participation in existing properties

The fintech Linus Digital Finance is adding investments in existing properties to its product range from autumn this year. The targets of the new equity segment are first-class (core) residential and office properties in Germany's top 7 cities.

By Thomas List, Frankfurt

Fintech Linus Digital Finance is adding investments in existing properties to its product range from autumn this year. "We recently acquired a newly built residential property in Berlin-Mitte for just under €10 million as our first portfolio investment," said David Neuhoff, founder and Chief Executive Officer of the company, in an interview with Börsen-Zeitung. "We will soon make this available to our clients via our investment platform." Semi-professional investors must invest at least 200,000 euros, professional at least 50,000 euros. Institutional clients are also being addressed, however.

Target Core Objects

The target properties of the new equity segment are first-class (core) residential and office properties in Germany's top 7 cities. "The newly built or freshly renovated residential and office properties should be let on long-term leases, have little need for investment in the coming years and generate as constant a cash flow as possible." Linus Digital Finance focuses on properties between €10 mill and €50 mill in purchase price. "We finance with a moderate leverage of 50 to 60 %. These are bank loans." Depending on the amount of equity investment, Linus takes a portion of the investment amount permanently on its own books. "For the residential property now acquired in Berlin, it will be 10 to 15 %."

From autumn 2021, you can invest in high-quality portfolio properties with LINUS.
Learn more now.

This approach, both in terms of property size and on the financing side, corresponds to that of the business segment in which Linus has been active since its founding in 2016: debt financing of real estate. Through a private debt fund that it manages, the company finances real estate projects with debt and mezzanine capital. Semi-professional, professional and institutional investors can participate in these investments via a digital platform (see BZ of 18 May).

Neuhoff wants to use the pipeline of properties already (debt) financed by Linus for the new equity investments. "We finance the properties in development, so we see them early, have good relationships with the project developers and therefore believe that we can generate a good pipeline for the equity investments." Competition for the properties is considered manageable, as properties of around €20m are too small for many funds. "We acquired our first property off-market from a developer we already knew."

Two to three objects a year

Neuhoff can imagine that "in addition to the property we have already acquired, we will buy two or three more properties this year. But the decisive factor is that they are high-quality properties." In perspective, an annual distribution yield of 3 to 4 % and an expected total return of 5 to 7 % is expected.

The holding period for the portfolio properties is to be between five and ten years. "At a point in time specified in the sales prospectus, the property will either be sold or, if the property is to be held for longer, the investor will be granted the right to sell his investment to us as investment manager at the then current value." In the future, the investments will also be tradable on the company's own platform so that investors can sell their shares to other co-investors.

From autumn 2021, you can invest in high-quality portfolio properties with LINUS.
Learn more now.

To assess the market opportunities of digital platforms among wealthy individuals, the market research institute Yougov conducted a survey on behalf of Linus in April 2021 among 253 people with financial assets of between 500,001 euros and 1 million euros (60% of respondents) or more than 1 million euros (40%). According to the survey, almost 40 % of investors can imagine investing 50,000 euros or even 200,000 euros via an online platform, or have already done so. Another 28 % of respondents would first invest smaller amounts via an online platform. Only just under a third value personal advice and do not want to invest purely digitally. This is not surprising for Neuhoff. He points to digital brokers like Trade Republic. "In 2020, there were as many direct shareholders in Germany as there had been since the turn of the millennium. That was strongly driven by the many possibilities of digital and thus greatly simplified access to share trading." What has long been common practice in e-commerce with Amazon, Zalando and Co. is now spreading to the investment sector.

Trust is a decisive factor for the success of an investment platform. According to Neuhoff, Linus Digital Finance benefits from recommendations from previous clients, but also offers more cautious prospective investors the opportunity to start with smaller sums. "The longer we exist, the more attractive we become for more online-shy investors."

First listing on 19 May

The initial listing of the company's shares on the Frankfurt Stock Exchange on 19 May should also help to build confidence. However, in view of two major shareholders who together hold just under 75 % of the shares, liquidity is manageable. "We will always consider whether measures make sense to make the share more liquid." This applies in the long term, he said. Currently, however, there are no plans for this.

Further articles

Press release
30
.
07
.
2021
Strategic expansion of investment offering: LINUS Digital Finance to offer long-term portfolio investment in core real estate in the future

· For the first time ever co-investors will be able to subscribe equity real estate investments in German A cities digitally from autumn 2021 on-wards · Newly-built residential property in Berlin-Mitte acquired as first invest-ment opportunity · Inclusion in XETRA trading means additional liquidity for shares in Linus Digital Finance AG

Find out more
Press release
12
.
07
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance ignites next stage of growth offensive: Digital platform now also available in the UK

- Digital platform now also accessible for British investors - German investors can also invest in the UK in the near future - Next step on the way to becoming the leading pan-European real estate FinTech

Find out more
Press release
29
.
06
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance and institutional investor finance building construction phase of a residential project with over 19,000 m² in Berlin-Wilmersdorf as whole loan

Financing volume amounts to 48.75 million euros with a two-year term - Whole-loan financing enables 49 eligible residential units in addition to freely financed development - First life-cycle project in the LINUS Digital Finance portfolio

Find out more
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as a UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page

Zurück zur Übersicht
Presseartikel
Börsen-Zeitung
03
.
08
.
2021

Fintech Linus Digital Finance bietet Beteiligung an Bestandsimmobilien

Das Fintech Linus Digital Finance ergänzt ab Herbst dieses Jahres seine Produktpalette um Beteiligungen an Bestandsimmobilien. Zielobjekte des neuen Equity-Bereichs sind erstklassige (Core-) Wohn- und Büroimmobilien in den deutschen Top-7-Städten.

Von Thomas List, Frankfurt

Das Fintech Linus Digital Finance ergänzt ab Herbst dieses Jahres seine Produktpalette um Beteiligungen an Bestandsimmobilien. „Wir haben kürzlich für etwas unter 10 Mill. Euro eine neu gebaute Wohnimmobilie in Berlin-Mitte als erstes Bestandsinvestment erworben“, sagte David Neuhoff, Gründer und Chief Executive Officer der Gesellschaft, im Gespräch mit der Börsen-Zeitung. „In Kürze werden wir das unseren Kunden über unsere Investment-Plattform zugänglich machen.“ Semiprofessionelle Anleger müssen mindestens 200 000 Euro, professionelle mindestens 50 000 Euro investieren. Angesprochen werden aber auch institutionelle Kunden.

Ziel Core-Objekte

Zielobjekte des neuen Equity-Bereichs sind erstklassige (Core-) Wohn- und Büroimmobilien in den deutschen Top-7-Städten. „Die neu gebauten oder frisch renovierten Wohn- und Büroobjekte sollen langfristig vermietet sein, in den kommenden Jahren wenig Investmentbedarf haben und einen möglichst konstanten Cash-flow generieren.“ Die Linus Digital Finance konzentriert sich auf Objekte zwischen 10 Mill. und 50 Mill. Euro Ankaufspreis. „Wir finanzieren mit einem moderaten Leverage von 50 bis 60 %. Das sind Bankkredite.“ Abhängig von der Höhe des Eigenkapitalinvestments nimmt Linus einen Teil der Investitionssumme dauerhaft auf die eigenen Bücher. „Bei dem jetzt erworbenen Wohnobjekt in Berlin werden es 10 bis 15 % sein.“

Ab Herbst 2021 investieren Sie mit LINUS in hocherwertige Bestandsimmobilien.
Jetzt mehr erfahren.

Dieses Vorgehen, sowohl bei der Objektgröße als auch auf der Finanzierungsseite, entspricht dem des Geschäftsfelds, auf dem Linus seit ihrer Gründung 2016 aktiv ist: dem Debt Financing von Immobilien. Über einen von ihr verwalteten Private-Debt-Fonds finanziert die Gesellschaft Immobilienprojekte mit Fremd- und Mezzanine-Kapital. Semiprofessionelle, professionelle und institutionelle Anleger können sich an diesen Investments über eine digitale Plattform beteiligen (vgl. BZ vom 18. Mai).

Neuhoff will die Pipeline der bereits von Linus (fremd-)finanzierten Objekte für die neuen Eigenkapitalinvestments nutzen. „Wir finanzieren die Objekte in der Entwicklung, sehen sie also frühzeitig, haben gute Beziehungen zu den Projektentwicklern und glauben deshalb, dass wir eine gute Pipeline für die Eigenkapitalinvestments generieren können.“ Der Wettbewerb um die Objekte gilt als überschaubar, da für viele Fonds Objekte mit um die 20 Mill. Euro zu klein sind. „Unser erstes Objekt haben wir off-market von einem Developer erworben, den wir schon kannten.“

Zwei bis drei Objekte im Jahr

Neuhoff kann sich vorstellen, „dass wir neben dem bereits erworbenen Objekt in diesem Jahr zwei bis drei weitere Objekte ankaufen. Entscheidend ist aber, dass es sich um hochwertige Objekte handelt.“ Perspektivisch wird mit einer jährlichen Ausschüttungsrendite von 3 bis 4 % und einer erwarteten Gesamtrendite von 5 bis 7 % gerechnet.

Die Haltefrist für die Bestandsobjekte soll zwischen fünf und zehn Jahren liegen. „Zu einem im Verkaufsprospekt festgeschriebenen Zeitpunkt wird das Objekt entweder verkauft oder, soll das Objekt doch länger gehalten werden, dem Anleger das Recht eingeräumt, seine Beteiligung zum dann aktuellen Wert an uns als Investmentmanager zu verkaufen.“ Perspektivisch sollen die Beteiligungen auch auf der eigenen Plattform handelbar sein, so dass die Investoren ihre Anteile an andere Mitinvestoren verkaufen können.

Ab Herbst 2021 investieren Sie mit LINUS in hocherwertige Bestandsimmobilien.
Jetzt mehr erfahren.

Zur Abschätzung der Marktchancen von digitalen Plattformen bei Vermögenden hat das Marktforschungsinstitut Yougov im Auftrag von Linus im April 2021 eine Umfrage bei 253 Personen mit einem Geldvermögen zwischen 500 001 und 1 Mill. Euro (60 % der Befragten) bzw. mehr als 1 Mill. Euro (40 %) durchgeführt. Danach können sich knapp 40 % der Investoren vorstellen, 50 000 Euro oder sogar 200 000 Euro über eine Online-Plattform zu investieren, oder haben es bereits getan. Weitere 28 % der Befragten würden über eine Online-Plattform zuerst kleinere Beträge investieren. Nur ein knappes Drittel legt Wert auf persönliche Beratung und will nicht rein digital investieren. Für Neuhoff ist dies nicht überraschend. Er verweist auf digitale Broker wie Trade Republic. „2020 gab es in Deutschland so viele direkte Aktionäre wie zuletzt seit der Jahrtausendwende. Das wurde stark getrieben durch die vielen Möglichkeiten des digitalen und damit stark vereinfachten Zugang zum Aktienhandel.“ Was im E-Commerce mit Amazon, Zalando und Co. schon länger gang und gäbe ist, greife jetzt auch auf den Investmentbereich über.

Für den Erfolg einer Anlageplattform ist das Vertrauen eine entscheidende Größe. Linus Digital Finance profitiert laut Neuhoff von Empfehlungen bisheriger Kunden, bietet aber auch vorsichtigeren Interessenten die Möglichkeit, mit geringeren Summen anzufangen. „Je länger wir existieren, umso attraktiver werden wir für onlinescheuere Investoren.“

Erstnotierung am 19. Mai

Zur Vertrauensbildung sollte auch die Erstnotierung der Unternehmensaktie an der Frankfurter Börse am 19. Mai beitragen. Angesichts zweier Großaktionäre, die zusammen knapp 75 % der Aktien halten, ist die Liquidität jedoch überschaubar. „Wir werden immer wieder überlegen, ob Maßnahmen Sinn machen, um die Aktie liquider zu machen.“ Dies gelte langfristig. Aktuell gibt es jedoch keine Pläne dafür.

Weitere Artikel

Pressemitteilung
30
.
07
.
2021
Strategische Erweiterung des Anlageangebots: LINUS Digital Finance bietet künftig langfristige Bestandsinvestition in Core-Immobilien

· Co-Investoren können ab Herbst 2021 erstmals digital Equity Real Estate-Investments in deutschen A-Städten zeichnen · Wohnungsneubau in Berlin-Mitte als erste Investmentmöglichkeit erworben · XETRA-Handelsaufnahme bringt zusätzliche Liquidität in Aktien der Linus Digital Finance AG

Mehr erfahren
Pressemitteilung
12
.
07
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance zündet nächste Stufe der Wachstumsoffensive: Digitale Plattform jetzt auch im Vereinigten Königreich verfügbar

• Digitale Plattform jetzt auch für britische Investoren zugänglich • Zeitnah können auch deutsche Investoren im Vereinigten Königreich investieren • Nächster Schritt auf dem Weg zum führenden paneuropäischen Immobilien-FinTech

Mehr erfahren
Pressemitteilung
29
.
06
.
2021
LINUS Digital Finance und institutioneller Investor finanzieren Hochbauphase eines Wohnprojekts mit über 19.000 m² in Berlin-Wilmersdorf als Whole-Loan

Finanzierungsvolumen beträgt 48,75 Millionen Euro bei zweijähriger Laufzeit • Whole-Loan-Finanzierung ermöglicht neben frei finanzierter Entwicklung auch 49 förderfähige Wohneinheiten • Erstes Life-Cycle-Projekt im LINUS Digital Finance-Portfolio

Mehr erfahren
You are currently on the EU website of LINUS Digital Finance. If you want to view our products as an UK investor, please click the button below.
Go to UK website
continue with EU page